MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL Held on Saturday, the 21st July, 2012 at 10.00 A.M. Council Hall, University of Delhi, Delhi

No. 1

PRESENT

1. Prof. Dinesh Singh

2. Prof. Vivek Suneja

3. Prof. Sudhish Pachauri

4. Prof. Umesh Rai

5. Dr. Savita M. Datta

6. Dr. A.K. Bhagi

7. Dr. A.M. Khan

8. Dr. A.S. Yaruingam

9. Dr. Amitava Chakraborty

10. Prof. (Ms.) Anita Sharma

11. Dr. Anu Kapur

12. Dr. Anula Maurya

13. Dr. Anupa Sidhu

14. Prof. (Ms.) Anupam Mahajan

15. Dr. Anurag Mishra

16. Dr. (Ms.) Aruna Chhikara

17. Prof. Ashok Kumar Singh

18. Prof. (Ms.) B.K. Thelma

19. Dr. (Ms.) Babli Moitra Saraf

20. Prof. Bal Kishan Dass

21. Prof. C.P. Gupta

22. Prof. Chander Shekhar Dubey

23. Dr. D.K. Kansal

24. Prof. (Ms.) E.K. Sharma

25. Dr. G.P. Aggarwal

26. Prof. Gopeshwar Singh

27. Prof. H.C. Pokhriyal

28. Prof. H.S. Prasad

29. Prof. Indranil Dasgupta

30. Prof. J.P. Sharma

31. Prof. J.S. Virdi

32. Sh. Jnanendra Narayan Singh

33. Prof. (Ms.) Kusum Agarwal

34. Prof. M. Nagar

35. Prof. M.K. Pandit

36. Dr. M.R. Chhikara

37. Dr. M.S. Bhatia

Vice-Chancellor – Chairman

Pro-Vice-Chancellor

Dean of Colleges

Director, South Campus

Director, C.O.L.

- 38. Dr. (Ms.) Madhu Purthi
- 39. Dr. Manjit Singh
- 40. Ms. Meena
- 41. Prof. Mithilesh Kumar Chaturvedi
- 42. Dr. (Ms.) Monica Misra
- 43. Prof. N.B. Mathur
- 44. Sh. Nawal Kishore
- 45. Dr. Nikhil Jain
- 46. Prof. P.C. Pattnaik
- 47. Prof. P.K. Bhatnagar
- 48. Dr. P.K. Khurana
- 49. Prof. (Ms.) Paramjeet Kaur Walia
- 50. Dr. (Ms.) Poonam Verma
- 51. Prof. (Ms.) Pramod Kumari
- 52. Dr. (Ms.) Preeti Wanti Srivastava
- 53. Dr. (Ms.) Purabi Saikia
- 54. Prof. R.C. Thakran
- 55. Sh. R.N. Vashista
- 56. Prof. R.P. Tandon
- 57. Sh. R.P. Tulsian
- 58. Dr. Rajesh
- 59. Dr. Rajesh Kr. Jha
- 60. Dr. Rakesh Kumar
- 61. Prof. (Ms.) Rama Mathew
- 62. Prof. Ravinder Gargesh
- 63. Prof. (Ms.) Rehana Khatoon
- 64. Dr. Renu Bala
- 65. Prof. S.C. Bhatla
- 66. Prof. S.K. Bansal
- 67. Dr. S.K. Kundra
- 68. Dr. S.K. Sagar
- 69. Prof. S.K. Verma
- 70. Prof. S.L. Malik
- 71. D. C. C.M.C. Cl. 1
- 71. Prof. S.M.S. Chauhan
- 72. Prof. S.N. Gaur
- 73. Dr. Sanjay Kumar
- 74. Dr. Sanjay Verma
- 75. Dr. Satender Kumar Joshi
- 76. Prof. Satish Deshpande
- 77. Dr. Shashi Nijhawan
- 78. Sh. Sheo Dutt
- 79. Dr. Tamal Dasgupta
- 80. Prof. Taugeer Ahmad Khan
- 81. Prof. (Ms.) Upreet Dhaliwal
- 82. Dr. V.S. Negi
- 83. Dr. (Ms.) Vasudha Bhatnagar

- 84. Dr. Vijay K. Sharma
- 85. Prof. Vijay Kumar Kaul
- 86. Dr. Virender Bhardwaj

SPECIAL INVITEES

- 1. Prof. Ajay Kumar
- 2. Prof.Anand Prakash
- 3. Dr. Avinash Kumar
- 4. Dr. D.S. Jaggi
- 5. Prof. H.P. Singh
- 6. Prof. I. Usha Rao
- 7. Prof. Kamala Sankaran
- 8. Prof. M.M. Chaturvedi
- 9. Prof. Malashri Lal
- 10. Prof. Ramesh Gautam
- 11. Dr. Shobha Bagai
- 12. Dr. Sukrita Paul Kumar

Ms. Alka Sharma, Registrar - Secretary

WELCOME

1/ At the outset, the Council welcomed the following who had become members of the Academic Council:

1. Prof. Rama Mathew Statute 7(1)(viii)

2. Prof. N.B. Mathur

3. Dr. Ajit Chaturvedi "

4. Ms. Alka Sharma Registrar - Secretary

APPRECIATION

2/ The Council placed on record its deep sense of appreciation of the services rendered by the following during their tenure as members of the Academic Council:

1. Prof. Anita Rampal Statute 7(1)(viii)

2. Prof. Anand Prakash Dube "

- 3. Prof. Ashutosh Trivedi
- 4. Shri R.K. Sinha

Registrar – Secretary

3/ Resolved that the following Draft Amendment regarding addition of Ordinance X-D in the Ordinances of the University be accepted and recommended for consideration of the Executive Council:

Add the following Ordinance in the Ordinances of the University.

Ordinance X-D: Transfer of Credits and Results

The University of Delhi shall permit transfer of credits/results with a University/Institution with the approval of the Academic Council and Executive Council on a case by case basis as follows:

- (i) A student of another University/Institution may be permitted to pursue paper(s) in a course of study in the University of Delhi. Such a student shall attend classes and appear for such examination as may be conducted for the paper(s), by the University of Delhi and be subject to all relevant rules of the University of Delhi. The University of Delhi shall issue the results for the paper(s) s/he has pursued in the University.
 - (ii) A student of the University of Delhi shall be permitted to pursue paper(s) in a course of study in another University/Institution. Such a student shall attend classes and appear for such examinations as may be conducted for the paper(s) by the other University/Institution. The University of Delhi shall accept the results for the paper(s) s/he has pursued in the other University/Institute.

(iii) Where the other University/Institution has a credit/results scheme for a course different from that of the University of Delhi, the equivalence shall be determined by the competent authority of the University of Delhi.

Further resolved that the consequential amendments, if any, be made in the relevant Ordinances.

Six members dissented.

- 4/ Resolved that the introduction and syllabus of the new course 'Master of Mathematics Education' under the Meta University concept be approved. (Appendix-I).
 Six members dissented.
- <u>5/</u> Resolved that the introduction and syllabus of the new course 'B.Tech. Humanities' under the Meta College concept be approved. (Appendix-II).
 Six members dissented.
- 6/ Resolved that the following Draft Amendment to Ordinance V(1) of the Ordinances of the University be accepted and recommended for consideration of the Executive Council:

Add the following courses of study:

Course	<u>Reference</u>
Master of Mathematics Education (equivalent to M.Sc. Mathematics Education)	A.C. 21.07.2012
B.Tech. Humanities	A.C. 21.07.2012

Six members dissented.

- 7/ Resolved that the following Draft Amendment to Appendix-II to Ordinance
- V(2) and VII of the Ordinances of the University be accepted and recommended for consideration of the Executive Council (vide Annexure I & II):

Add the Syllabi/Schemes of the Examinations of the following courses:

Course	Reference
Master of Mathematics Education (equivalent to M.Sc. Mathematics Education)	A.C. 21.07.2012
B.Tech. Humanities	A.C. 21.07.2012

Six members dissented.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Alka Sharma) Registrar – Secretary (**Dinesh Singh**) Vice-Chancellor - Chairman

^{*}minutes are yet to be confirmed